Great Teen Reads

inspirebreathecreate

After reading “The Lord of the Rings” at age nine, where else was there to go?  I asked my father to find me a book about ‘quests’ in the local library, and he gave me “The Little House on the Prairie”.  So much for that.  So it was discovering “Over Sea and Under Stone” by Susan Cooper that started me down this now well trodden path, bolstered on both sides by Alan Garner’s “Weirdstone of Brisingamen”, and “Owl Service”.

It was perhaps the escapism which attracted, together with the power given to children to save the world, of course.  I drifted from novel to novel in my teens, settling on Anne Rice and Jean Auel, which I read and re-read.  But it was Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale”, which struck a chord that continued to reverbate well into my adult life.  Nowadays, I have a great excuse for perusing the…

View original post 382 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

