Bring on the Zombie wars!

I think it would be very cool beanz if ever we decided to talk to each other in rhyming couplets.  Or in staza’s.  We’d have to do the uber important thing of thinking before we speak.  We’d even have to do that and then speak with heart, or from it.

Dear poet sage , I’ve something sound to say, a ditty small, to thee

And if I wish it also, somewhat profound, on the subject of electricity

I could do without it

I don’t doubt it

Save for just one time

When striving for a place to put my grace

In a succinct and pure one line.

Could you do it?  Live without it?

Just for one little day?

Purity demands that you think hard

And tell me what you will say

For me, ah me

My life will be lived

In sweet simplicity

Not bereaved, gently reprieved

In Arizona, Sedona, in a tipee.

And in the silence of your response, I might ask you, “So, what survival techniques have you got up your sleeve, for when, you know, the Zombies attack?”

My daughter wears this tee shirt with pride, and I made it myself.  It’s in urban khaki, with a red logo which goes “If zombies arrive, I’m tripping you.”

Not that I’m fatalist or anything, although I did devour “New Dawn Bright Day” in my twenties.  Chicken soup for the survival soul aka “if it’s yellow let it mellow.”  Say no more.  But I do wonder.  This dependence on electricity (homage to DeanJBaker for inspiring this) is confounding, astounding and somewhat rash, for what would you do, think on, oh do, if zombies arrived in a flash?  Oh there I go again. This sad affliction could be called Couplet Addiction.  Urgh!  Again.

I live on a hill, in an ancient market town.  There’s a cannon ball lodged in the church bell tower, put there accidentally by Oliver Cromwell.  Forgetful chap, he left it there.  Still, my house is 400 years old.  And believe me when I say, that on buying it, I looked at the 1970’s m-avocado bathroom and thought to myself , “I’ll just wait.  It’s so retro, it’ll be back in fashion before you know it”.

So up on this hill, and with Daughter having just devoured the wonderful “Gone” series by Michael Grant, we have had many conversations about what if?  One of the things I love about teenagers is their capacity to imaginate where we have forgotten how to.  There’s me putting in my tuppenceworth, “well, barricade yourselves, get a group of friends together, get lots of food and weapon up!”  Such warlike sentiments from someone who won’t allow the dear child to own a Wii or computer game.

But a funny thing happened from my flippant comments, all her friends joined in.  They put a strategy in place covering all those must-do elements, and I was astounded.  The future, thought I, is in safe hands.  These young ones are thoughtful, resourceful (don’t worry, I’m not going to go all Couplet Addiction on you) imaginative and strategic.  There was no fantasy involved in their musings, no sense of what fun!  To be attacked by a Zombie! Just, let’s get down to business.  But before you think me cruel, they did have tremendous fun working this whole thing out.  The premise I gave them was this; all adults have suddenly disappeared.  What would happen?

And they flew with it.  We laughed a lot, and then I left them to it (I know my place).  But I did hear daughter and friends talking of taking antique swords and armour off our walls, and getting target practice in with my Longbow.  The gift of children, their minds, their hearts.

I’ve got no couplet to succinctly say any of this.  If you have any, let me know!

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This was great! I have always and often found it amusing that in “zombie” stories we see the “adults” as the central characters when in fact it is doubtful they could suspend disbelief (or perhaps possess the cardio) to survive. (which is why my zombie novel is centered around survivors between 15 and 22 years of age). Beyond that I think adults are so often fearful, impatient, or dismissive of teens and consequently seldom learn of the things that youth can offer adulthood. I have five children (15, 16, 18, 20, 21) and love to listen to them interact be it dramas or dreams…everyone should take a few minutes to do so…cuz in the zombie apocalypse you do want to know the ones that might trip you. LOL. Again – Great Post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

